Short-term and temporary residence of foreigners in the republic of Croatia

Third-country nationals (citizens of non-EEA countries) in the Republic of Croatia can obtain the right to short-term or temporary residence, as well as long-term and permanent residence. This text will focus on short-term and temporary residence.

Short-term Residence

Third-country nationals can stay in the Republic of Croatia on a short-term residence for up to 90 days within any 180-day period (90 days of stay can be used either once or multiple times). In addition to their stay in Croatia, these 90 days include stays in any Schengen Area member state.

During their short-term stay, third-country nationals must have registered accommodation, and the person providing the accommodation is responsible for reporting it in the E-visitor system or at the police station. If the accommodation cannot be reported by the accommodation provider, the third-country national is obligated to do so within two days of entering the Republic of Croatia or changing their accommodation.

Temporary Residence

Temporary residence is granted to third-country nationals who intend to reside or are residing in the Republic of Croatia for various purposes, including family reunification, secondary education, studying, research, humanitarian reasons, life partnership, work, employment of a posted worker, the residence of a person with long-term residence in another EEA member state, the residence of digital nomads, and other purposes.

Temporary residence for work purposes is issued as a residence and work permit.

The application for temporary residence approval is submitted to the diplomatic mission or consular office of the Republic of Croatia. Temporary residence will be granted to the third-country national if they:

1. Prove the purpose of temporary residence
2. Possess a valid foreign travel document
3. Have means of support
4. Have health insurance
5. Attach evidence that they have not been finally convicted of criminal offenses in their home country or the country where they resided for more than one year immediately before coming to the Republic of Croatia unless they are a posted worker, student, researcher, or a person transferred within a company using mobility from another EEA member state.
6. Do not have an entry ban to the Republic of Croatia and a ban on residence in the Republic of Croatia, or a warning issued in the SIS system for the purpose of entry prohibition
7. Do not pose a threat to public order, national security, or public health.

The Ministry, through the police administration or police station at the place of residence or intended residence of the third-country national, decides on the application for temporary residence. Temporary residence permits are issued with a validity period of up to one year. The application for the extension of a temporary residence permit must be submitted no later than 60 days before the expiration of the validity period to the police administration or police station at the place of residence of the third-country national.

Additionally, third-country nationals requiring a visa to enter Croatia must also apply for a visa once their residence is approved.

More on the subject in: Citizens of third countries